About the Show

October 2017

SUPERIOR DONUTS

SUPERIOR DONUTS is a comedy about the owner of a small donut shop that’s located in a quickly gentrifying Chicago neighborhood. Arthur is a gruff, to-the-point Chicagoan who refuses to sell newfangled cronuts and macchiatos or renovate his dated shop that hasn’t changed since it opened in 1969. That all changes when enterprising go-getter Franco fast-talks his way into Arthur’s life as his new (and only) employee, and convinces him that he can bring the shop – and Arthur – into the 21st century. Arthur’s supportive regulars include loyal patron Randy, a cop whose late father was Arthur’s best friend; Tush, a colorful customer and proud member of the gig economy who uses the shop counter as a makeshift office; and Sweatpants, Franco’s optimistic longtime friend and rent-challenged roommate. Looking to cash in on the urban renewal is Fawz, who owns the dry cleaners next door to Arthur’s shop and is also president of the neighborhood business council and an outspoken capitalist. With his business already challenged, Arthur faces another competitor when Sofia, an ambitious young entrepreneur, parks her organic food truck in front of the donut shop and becomes a hit with his customers. As obstacles continue to mount, Arthur begins to realize the value in embracing the change around him and that Franco is exactly what he – and the donut shop – need to thrive. Based on the play by Pulitzer Prize and Tony Award winning writer Tracy Letts.

 




ON AIR:
Begins its second season Monday, Oct. 30 on the CBS Television Network.
Mondays (9:00-9:30 PM, ET/PT)


 

ORIGINATION: Los Angeles

 

FORMAT: Comedy (Filmed in HD)

 

STARRING: Judd Hirsch (Arthur Przybyszewski)

Jermaine Fowler (Franco Wicks)

Katey Sagal (Randy DeLuca)

David Koechner (Carl “Tush” Tushinski)

Maz Jobrani (Fawz)

Rell Battle (Sweatpants)

Diane Guerrero (Sofia)

 

PRODUCED BY: CBS Television Studios

 

EXECUTIVE PRODUCERS: Bob Daily, Neil Goldman, Garrett Donovan, Mark Teitelbaum, John R. Montgomery, Michael Rotenberg, Josh Lieberman and Jermaine Fowler

Photos are available on www.cbspressexpress.com

Website: www.cbs.com/shows/superior-donuts

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SuperiorDonuts

Twitter: @SuperiorDonuts

Instagram: @SuperiorDonuts

CBS Twitter: https://twitter.com/CBSTweet

Cast on Twitter:

Jermaine Fowler @jermaineFOWLER
Katey Sagal @KateySagal
David Koechner @DavidKoechner
Maz Jobrani @Maz Jobrani
Rell Battle @Rell Battle
Diane Guerrero @dianeguerrero_

Cast on Instagram:

Jermaine Fowler @jermainefowler
Katey Sagal @kateylous
David Koechner @davidkoechner
Maz Jobrani @mazjobrani
Rell Battle @rellbattle
Diane Guerrero @dianeguerrero

* * *

Press Contacts:

Shawna Malcom 818-655-1589 shawna.malcom@cbs.com
Lauren Grossman 818-655-7241 lauren.grossman@cbs.com

Photo Contacts:

Gaye Ann Bruno 818-655-1542 gayeann.bruno@cbs.com
Kathleen Holloway 212-975-8533 kholloway@cbs.com

Press:

Shawna Malcom
818-655-1589
shawna.malcom@cbs.com

 

CBS Television Studios:

Lauren Grossman
818-655-7241
lauren.grossman@cbs.com

 

Photo:

Kathleen Holloway
212-975-8533
kholloway@cbs.com

Gaye Ann Bruno
818-655-1542
gayeann.bruno@cbs.com