About the Show

June 2016

PURE GENIUS

PURE GENIUS is a cutting-edge medical drama about a young Silicon Valley tech titan who enlists an exceptional veteran surgeon with a controversial past to run a state-of-the-art hospital with an ultramodern approach to medicine. Billionaire genius James Bell built Bunker Hill Hospital determined to revolutionize health care and treat the rarest and most challenging medical mysteries, at no charge. Bell persuades maverick surgeon Dr. Walter Wallace to be his Chief of Staff; Dr. Wallace believed medicine was a human endeavor, not technological, until a eureka moment at the hospital convinced him otherwise. Bell’s team of trailblazers includes Dr. Zoe Brockett, an exceptional, fearlessly frank physician; Dr. Talaikha Channarayapatra, an idealistic, maddeningly literal neurosurgeon who believes the hospital is a beacon for change; Dr. Malik Verlaine, a former gangbanger now spearheading efforts to provide 24/7 health monitoring in poor neighborhoods via computer; Dr. Scott Strauss, an intense neurologist with an Ivy league pedigree; and Angie Cheng, an enthusiastic 3-D printer programming whiz. At Bunker Hill, Bell pairs the most brilliant minds in medicine with the most forward thinkers in technology and cuts bureaucracy out of the equation, all in the interest of saving lives, including his own. 

Premieres Thursday, Oct. 27 (10:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network

ON AIR: Thursdays (10:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT)

ORIGINATION: Los Angeles

FORMAT: Drama (Filmed in HD)

STARRING:     Dermot Mulroney (Dr. Walter Wallace)

Augustus Prew (James Bell)

Odette Annable (Dr. Zoe Brockett)

Reshma Shetty (Dr. Talaikha Channarayapatra)

Aaron Jennings (Dr. Malik Verlaine)

Ward Horton (Dr. Scott Strauss)

Brenda Song (Angie Cheng)

 

PRODUCED BY: Universal Studios in association with CBS Television Studios

EXECUTIVE PRODUCERS: Jason Katims, Michelle Lee, David Semel (pilot only)

Website: http://www.cbs.com/shows/pure-genius/

Photos are available at www.cbspressexpress.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/PureGeniusCBS

Twitter: https://twitter.com/puregenius

CBS Twitter: @cbstweet

Cast on Twitter:

                      Augustus Prew: @AugustusPrew

Odette Annable: @OdetteAnnable

Reshma Shetty: @ReshmaShetty

Aaron Jennings: @aarontjennings

Ward Horton: @thewardhorton

Brenda Song: @BrendaSong

Cast on Instagram:

Augustus Prew: @augustusprew

Odette Annable: @odetteannable

Reshma Shetty: @reshmashetty

Aaron Jennings: @aarontaylorjennings

Ward Horton: @wardhorton

Brenda Song: @brendasong

* * *

Press Contacts:

Andrea Ballas             818-655-1581        andrea.ballas@cbs.com

Kim Izzo-Emmet         212-975-3820        krizzo-emmet@cbs.com

Photo Contacts:

Kathleen Tanji             818-655-1543         kathleen.tanji@cbs.com

 Kathleen Holloway      212-975-8533         kholloway@cbs.com

Press:

Andrea Ballas
818-655-1581
andrea.ballas@cbs.com

Kim Izzo-Emmet
212-975-3820
krizzo-emmet@cbs.com

 

Photo:

Kathleen Tanji
818-655-1543
kathleen.tanji@cbs.com

Kathleen Holloway
212-975-8533
kholloway@cbs.com